It’s Time for Gay Marriage

Gay Marriage is Marriage Equality.

Equality is not asking for special privileges.  Equality is asking to be treated the same as everyone else.

The Supreme Court is not a church and it doesn’t care what your holy book says.  It does not allow slavery or prostitution (for the most part), which your holy book does.  It allows mixed fabric blends and tattoos and eating lobster.  Your god doesn’t belong in my laws.  I’m sorry, but it doesn’t.

No one gets to vote on straight marriage or divorce.  No one should have to vote on gay marriage.

Don’t be on the wrong side of history.  History will side with equality.

I am bi-sexual.  I want to marry a man or a woman someday.  I expect that my country will allow me to make whichever mistake I choose.  This is America.  I can kill myself on junk food.  I can fill my body with botox and silicone.  I can sleep with any adult who consents.  I would like to marry whomever I ought to like as well.

We can mix race, mix age, mix cultures…  So what if we keep the sex the same?

Stand for equality.

Leave a Reply

