Married for 40 Years! It can happen.

Though I was going to write a post about my devastation that Amy Poehler and Will Arnett are separating (because that is seriously the end of the world and it makes me want to cry and scream and I think it might mean that love is dead and I’m scared that the world will end and that this is the first sign of the apocalypse and I just can’t stop crying about it because it’s so damn sad – they’re so beautifully funny and their union was everything we were going for – and by “we” I mean EVERYONE – and this is the most devastating news and I’m so sad and I don’t want it to be true and it’s awful and I know we’re all suffering), but instead, let me talk about my parents.

They’ve been married for 40 years.  I’ll give you a moment to process.

Barb and Don are so adorable. Seriously, they’re so in love and so happy and so, so weird.

These two got married on September 9, 1972.  Barb was 20 (but a wee little baby) and Don was 23.  They were so young and so in love and such hippies (sort of).  They are adorable and so very in love.  It took 15 years for them to finally make a baby, though they tried and tried and tried.  In 1987, they welcomed my older sister.  Two years later, they welcomed me – I was even shorter back then.

They’ve had some tough times, an aneurysm and a stroke between them, but they are inspirationally, Notebook-level in love.  Even when they’d fight, they would always come and find my sister and me to explain that they were just mad about “something stupid” and that they’d surely get over it soon.

I cannot even imagine being married right now, so it makes it even more impressive that they did it and did it right at such a young age. I feel weird even talking six months in the future with my boyfriend, but Don and Barb knew that they wanted to spend their lives together.

Don proposed when they got back in Barb’s car (which he was driving) after they had pancakes.  He basically just turned to her and said, “Will you?”  She obviously agreed.  Though this detail is less than cinematic, it’s sort of the perfect starting to a simple, happy life.  They never needed a big show; they have each other.  For the record, I would like a proposal with more planning (so would Kate)… At least a poem or something…  Perhaps a watermelon?

When I feel sad about celebrity, friend, and my own break-ups, I just focus on them.  They’ve given more unrealistic expectations about love than any amount of Disney or chick flicks could.  They’re amazing and wonderful.

Happy Anniversary, Don and Barb!

 

2 thoughts on “Married for 40 Years! It can happen.

Leave a Reply

