Gabby Douglas: Incredible Olympian, Adorable Human, Great Hair

This is Gabby Douglas.  She is an adorable human being.  She is also a powerhouse Olympian who just won the GOLD MEDAL in all-around women’s gymnastics.  Thus, she’s kind of a big deal.

OLYMPIC GOLD, PEOPLE.

A lot of people are excited that she won the gold medal, and I am definitely among them.  I love seeing an American take home the gold, but what is even more special about this particular victory is that Gabby Douglas is the first black athlete to win gold at the Olympics for gymnastics.  She will be getting a whole bunch of endorsements in the coming months and years, and she deserves it.

What doesn’t she deserve?  Being criticized for her hair.

Apparently, her hair has become an issue.

As many bloggers, tweeters, writers, and people that don’t matter have weighed in – her hair doesn’t matter at all.  She matters a lot.  Her hair, however, is of no consequence.  In fact, no Olympian’s hair is really of any consequence.  Olympians usually have the hair of people mid-workout… You know, ’cause they’re in the middle of playing sports.

Here are examples of other Olympian’s hair:

Shawn Johnson, Olympian

So, is this hair fine?  It seems fine to me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nastia Liukin, Olympian

And, is her hair okay?

 

 

 

 

 

 

My point is, I’m pretty sure her hair look fine.  She’s pretty sure too.  Here’s what she said, “What’s wrong with my hair?” (Great question.) “I’m like, ‘I just made history and people are focused on my hair?’ It can be bald or short; it doesn’t matter about my hair.” Her advice to anyone who thinks it’s worth debating? “Nothing is going to change. I’m going to wear my hair like this during beam and bar finals. You might as well just stop talking about it,” she said.

She so darn impressive.  Shut up about her hair.

When I see this picture, I am simply stunned.  I am certainly not thinking about her hair.

Dude. That’s impressive.

Say all you want, this Olympian will be laughing all the way to the bank.

Leave a Reply

