What the Smurf?

Oh, Neil Patrick Harris… I expect more from you.

“The Smurfs” is a little art film about the struggle of being different, being a minority, and facing the big hand of big brother and the man as they try to crush the little guy… Wait, wait, wait…  “The Smurfs” is actually a big-budget bullcrap movie ripping off an old cartoon with a bunch of random a-listers.  Boring and likely awful.  But, whatever!  That’s not our issue today.

The issue today is that I went to the theatre to see “Crazy, Stupid Love,” which by the way was amazing, and I saw some people with blue paint on their faces.  Why?  I just couldn’t figure it out.  It’s not Halloween…  Avatar’s not showing… Hmm, why are there a bunch of ADULTS with blue face paint on?  One or two of the women even had little white hats on.  And then, I looked up and saw it…  A poster for the smurf movie, and I realized that adults had dressed up in the middle of the day to go see a movie about smurfs.  Blerg.  I quickly exited the theatre and proceeded to laugh hysterically, because, well, it’s ridiculous.

Yes, I’m being judgmental.  That’s what this blog is for.  In fact, the only acceptable reasons to be blue in public on non-Halloween days are:

1. You are in a show/play/movie that requires blue-ness.

2. Bar Crawls – no rules, just drunk.

3. You’re choking… Though, I don’t want you to be choking.

4. You are in the Blue Man Group… OR You really want to be, and you might even be an understudy.  Right, Tobias?

I’m just really disappointed in adults for dressing up as smurfs… At least make it a smurf drinking party.  I mean, doesn’t that sound like more fun than popcorn?  Now that I think about it, maybe this was the pre-game to a real smurf rager.  Hmm, I can only hope.

Leave a Reply

