Thighs of Glory (Read: Beyonce’s Thighs)

(Amendment at end.)

Today, I learned that I have thighs of glory.  This does not mean my thighs are skinny, because they are not and they never will be.  Skinny thighs give me the creeps.  A “gentleman” walking about downtown Ann Arbor exclaimed upon seeing my pasty, glorious thighs, that they were, in fact, “Sweet and juicy.”  My first reaction, as always, was to get incredibly angry.  I generally get hypermasculine, start swearing, and calling people dudes when I am approached in this manner.  As you might imagine, I do not like being approached by random men who want to comment on my specific body parts and their potential “uses.”  Instead, I simply laughed at these strange and utterly creepy proclamations of my thigh’s awesomeness.

I thought to myself, “Here I am, a slightly-less-fat-than-average person with well-developed leg muscles (mostly the calves), pasty skin, a partial sunburn on my forehead, jiggly thighs, and fairly low self-esteem.  Yet, this possibly drunk man has enjoyed the show (by show, I mean that I walked by in longer-than-apparently-average shorts).  Maybe, I will just laugh at this and be thankful that someone out there still understands that thighs are meant to be thick, strong, and fleshy.  Thighs should look like thighs.”

I would much rather have Beyonce’s thighs of glory (however pastier, less toned, and altogether less glorious), than skinny thighs (ahem, LeAnn Rhimes, Victoria Beckham, Kiera Knightly, almost every model, and Miley Cyrus).  I would rather look like Serena Williams than a 12-year-old.  Skinny thighs are for children.  Thick thighs are for women.

Beyonce looks amazing. Her thighs are made of glory, sunshine, dance skills, and squats.

Seriously, how great does Beyonce look?  This lady helped bring back the popularity of thicker thighs, and I am thankful.  The ladies who write this blog are fans of curves.  Curves are normal.  Beyonce is clearly above average in all ways, but I think we need to remember the glory of “sweet and juicy thighs.”

This picture is so intimidating and amazing. Serena Williams could jump over a skyscraper with those legs. She could crush anything. They are glorious.

Serena Williams could destroy us all with her thighs.  I feel pretty good about that.  She is strong and sexy; her presence in pop culture is good for women with curves.

I know that this post may seem a bit strange.  *After all, I did get inspiration from a drunken cat call.*  However, it is somewhat comforting that people are appreciating pale, fleshy thighs.  That’s all.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Amendment:

After reading some comments, I realize that this post needs clarification.  Thin thighs are not “unacceptable,” “horrible,” nor are they somehow inherently “bad.”  It is not bad to be a thin person.  No one is a villain simply having thin thighs.

What is bad and scary, then?

It is bad and scary to push a body to extremes.  It is bad to glorify thinness above all else.  It is bad to glorify unhealthy habits that push people into unhealthy weights.  Just as a person can be too fat, a person can be too thin.  Both are bad.  The thing, not a lot of people are striving to be fat.  A lot of people are spending their days and nights obsessing over being thin at any price.  A lot of people have blogs and tumblrs devoted to “thinspo” with all kinds of ways to get skinny.  There are too many little girls and women out there who hurt themselves to achieve a level of thin that is not healthy for them.

That said, making thin women the villain is wrong.

Thin women just so happen to be thin.  Many people want to be thin, and that’s okay.  But wanting to be thin, or wanting to have Beyonce’s thighs, at any cost… that’s scary.

Also, Beyonce is amazing.

5 thoughts on “Thighs of Glory (Read: Beyonce’s Thighs)

  1. I have thighs no one wants. I get that. I get because of my unflattering genes I was cursed with thin thighs, chicken legs, etc., instead of gorgeous Beyonce features. I have “unacceptable” legs; doesnt mean I like them.

    • Thank you for making this comment; when I first saw it, I thought I should respond, but I didn’t know quite how. You make a really good and really important point. Though this original post is older, I am writing a follow-up piece about how I have been guilty of villainizing “skinny” instead of “unhealthy.” I would like to include your comment, if that is okay. Do I have your permission? My intent was always to fight for health and acceptance, but I ended up using harmful language against thin women. I think it is far more common for women to go to unhealthy means to achieve a thin look than a large look, but that doesn’t mean everyone who is thin is unnatural or even working towards something unnatural. Everyone should be able to feel beautiful and embraced by the culture around them. This blog is mostly supposed to be funny, but I think I need to take a serious look at this. I don’t want to make anyone feel bad about their body. I am sorry if I hurt you or made you feel any less than beautiful. Thank you for your comment.

  2. …I do think that today, society seems to glamorize the thin thighs and that’s silly because curves are natural. Well, mainstream pop culture does this. You, however, are part of the counter-trend culture that is quickly developing–saying that curves are natural. And /you’re absolutely right./ But I do want you to remember that the thin thighs are just as natural, so no need to berate them as ‘unacceptable’ either. These trends come and go. Let’s just suggest we all aim for a healthy BMI? Also Beyonce’s thighs—can I just say “dayum”? Beyonce is a beautiful person in so many ways.

    • You make a really good and really important point. Though this original post is older, I am writing a follow-up piece about how I have been guilty of villainizing “skinny” instead of “unhealthy.” I would like to include your comment, if that is okay. Do I have your permission? My intent was always to fight for health and acceptance, but I ended up using harmful language against thin women. I think it is far more common for women to go to unhealthy means to achieve a thin look than a large look, but that doesn’t mean everyone who is thin is unnatural or even working towards something unnatural. Everyone should be able to feel beautiful and embraced by the culture around them. This blog is mostly supposed to be funny, but I think I need to take a serious look at this. Thank you for your comment.

  3. It’s sad when some larger women feel the need to say that thin women look like children, young boys, bones and twigs or assume that we all have eating disorders in order to make themselves feel better. Every body is different and anyone who is truly confident in their body does not need to put others down in order to make themselves feel better.

Leave a Reply

